When I wrote this two months ago, I thought long and hard about publishing it. And yet I knew I had to, after having exchanged countless conversations with well-educated women in the arts, academia, publishing and editing, the countless stories I heard from highly accomplished women I’ve long known whom I never would have guessed had experienced misogynistic tear-downs and mental manipulation, and in some instances, physical violence and rape. Many thanks to Bustle for featuring my essay today in their Books section. I can only hope that it reveals to to others who find themselves in these situations that they aren’t alone. May we all gain the courage to stand up and speak out.

http://www.bustle.com/articles/52503-just-because-a-man-identifies-as-a-liberal-feminist-that-doesnt-mean-he-cant-be-abusive