Today’s post couldn’t prove more fitting, as the past two days have been a whirlwind of buses, trains, and car rides out to “The End” of Long Island and the rustic, spacious Barn that is the Edward F. Albee Foundation residency and the latest stop on my itinerant book-tour-turned-colony-stint. Despite last night’s chilly sleep in my first-floor studio/bedroom (we couldn’t figure out how to get the heater to work, but I trust that Rex, property-overseer, will fix it) and the lone bulb that I have to wiggle for light come nightfall, there’s already good rapport among our small group of writers and artists and gorgeous sites to behold. Walks and bike trips to the beach and dunes and hopefully, the nearby Pollock-Krasner House await, and I foresee many an afternoon spent in the quaint Montauk library, where I’m penning this post.

A few days back,The Missouri Review featured my short essay, “Apologia for Being a Colony Addict” on their blog, where I share my reasons for seeking out these often hard-to-get-to residencies, rife with idiosyncratic quirks as much as idyllic charm. But if you’re an adventurer, like me, you won’t want to miss out on these opportunities to see and create in a different corner of the world. You can read my essay here: http://www.missourireview.com/tmr-blog/2014/05/apologia-for-being-a-colony-addict/

