Last spring I had the good fortune to be invited to Laurie Uttich’s creative writing class, CRW 3053, at the University of Central Florida, to give a lecture on character and voice in my story, “Welcome, Lost Dogs.” The talk is now available on Youtube — not as glam as a TED talk, but you’ve gotta start somewhere, right? You can view the playlist here:

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL185B86BFD10A8996

If you haven’t read “Welcome, Lost Dogs,” which appeared in The Southern Review, Winter 2011, an audio version was featured earlier this year at The Drum:

http://www.drumlitmag.com/index.php?page=sounds&category=Issue_21._February_2012&display=465

Many thanks to Laurie Uttich and her 100+students, who gave my story a thoughtful read and who made for a large but nevertheless attentive audience. This was my first time speaking to such a big group, and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it, how intimacy in a classroom isn’t necessarily relegated by numbers.

Thanks for tuning in!

